Pronunciation of the vowels is easier if you have a sense where the vowels are pronounced. The first video
demonstrates where the vowels are pronounced and the second video focuses on the vowel duration.


  • There are 8 vowels in Finnish: a, e, i, o, u, y, ä, ö
    • a, o and u are called back vowels because you pronounce them your tongue down and back in your mouth. 
    • e, i, ä, ö and y are called front vowels, because you pronounce them your tongue up and front in your mouth. 
  • The vowels have two durations, short and long. Compare:
    • tapan (I kill)
    • tapaan (I meet)

Last modified: Wednesday, 13 June 2018, 2:41 PM