EIT RawMaterials ACADEMY

Modern process data analytics by case studies on mineralogy driven control of the production chain from mine to products (MIDICON)

The 5 ECTS credits MIDICON doctoral level course will provide an introduction to the modern data analytics and tools, focus on their application to the control of the industrial minerals processing chain - and, prompt student to assess business opportunities from new applications of data analytics in the raw materials sector. Course is supported by EIT Raw Materials KAVA funding.


  • Application is required
  • Dead line for enrolments: 31 January 2017
  • Link to the application form: closed
  • Required appendixes:
    • 1. A motivation letter, max 1 x A4
      2. A short CV, max 1 x A4
      3. A short description of doctoral studies and related research work including the preliminary thesis title and status of studies, max 1 x A4
      4. A recommendation letter
      5. An estimation of travelling costs to southwest England, UK and to Aalto University, Espoo, Finland.

Course costs will be mostly covered by KAVA funding including course fee, lunches, reasonable travel costs, and accommodation for three nights during the Workshop and Summer Camp. Detailed information will be delivered to the accepted participants.

Course content

  • Kick-off event combined with the 3-day-MIDICON workshop in southwest England (UK): 4-6 April 2017. Site visit to the Imerys’ Kaolin production plant in Par Moor. Imerys’ activities in Cornwall focus on Kaolin (China Clay) extraction and processing with the UK being the world’s 3rd largest producer and exporter of Kaolin.

  • On-line lectures on entrepreneurship in the industrial minerals sector and data analytics

  • Assignments

  • A 3-day MIDICON Summer camp in Aalto University (Finland): 29-31 August 2017


Course organisers

  • Aalto University
    • Course leader: Professor Sirkka-Liisa Jämsä-Jounela
    • Ainomaija Haarla
  • Delft University of Technology
    • Professor Mike Buxton
    • L.A.Guatame-Garcia
  • Outotec
    • Christian Binder
    • Robert Pardemann
    • Jean-Baptiste Léger
    • Christophe Mozzati
  • IMA-Europe
    • Aurela Shtiza
EU Flag